The Jackson Public Library is vibrant public library located in the picturesque town of Jackson, NH. Our local population hovers in the mid-800s, but we are supported also by residents in local communities and our large number of second home owners. We have been in existence since 1879, and located from 1901-2010 in a lovely shingle-style building in the center of the Village designed by William Ralph Emerson, a architect from Boston. When our collection reached the 10,000 mark and computers started taking over the limited amount of space, the Library Trustees started the process of finding a new space for the Library. In 2008, we had a 4,000+ square foot design ready to present to the town, when the bottom dropped out of the nation's economy. Rather than dropping our hopes and dreams, we regrouped and partnered with the Jackson Historical Society to make use of a historic barn from the town built in the 1850's. The "Trickey" barn was re-erected and became the new home of the Jackson Public Library on December 7, 2010. We now enjoy bathroom facilities, increased collection space, four times the number of public access computers, a dedicated children's area, and a large and beautifully designed circulation desk that can accommodate more than one staff person at a time. We have an extensive collection of books on New Hampshire and the White Mountains, and collect a larger than normal amount of books on weather due to our proximity to Mount Washington - Home of the World's Worst Weather, a large collection on knitting books, thanks to our monthly knitting group, and dozens of puzzles donated by White Mountain Puzzles, located in Jackson. They will be working with Jackson Grammar School on this year's Big Read.